The invincible sun

I got back from Glasgow around 6.30 this evening, by which time the sun (which wasn't shining when I left at 10.00 this morning ) was behind the trees above the house, creating this effect.  

It brought  to mind the  last lines of Robert Nichols'  Dawn on the Somme, a setting of which which forms the final part of Bliss' Morning Heroes 

... with limbs and hair aglow
Toward the risen god, upon whose brow
Burns the gold laurel of all victories,
Hero and hero’s god, th’ invincible Sun..

Earlier my two office teams - Government and Parliamentary - had their first joint meeting to discuss the coming year's diary and afterwards we had a great  late lunch in a tapas bar in Glasgow at which the three blippers present (me , Heather & Keir ) found ourselves suddenly taking the same picture as my extra photo shows.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.