The highs and lows

Early this morning, we said goodbye to our Monastery in a leafy part of Verona. We are now 2254' above sea level near Como and the view is incredible.

Friends of mine know how some driving terrifies me. We gained 1700' driving up a lethal mountain pass, with lethal hairpin turns. A 9-seater car would cost over £1000/week so we hired 2 small cars meaning I had to drive. To save money, we also opted out of fuller insurance, and I was sick with fright. It was terrifying. I was struggling to change gear, steer and avoid falling down cliffs, with 3 children in the car.

I had Italian locals, blaring their horns, too close behind me. I was trying to follow Elbows but that didn't work. An unfamiliar car, on the wrong side of the road, with the gear stick in the wrong place - aaaaahhhh - I stalled several times and had to fight off the urge to cry and stop. I think I felt terror and I'm not often terrified.

But having got here, I understand the pull.
We can see Lake Como and San Siro. We are high enough to be level with mountain peaks and it's amazing.

I will need God's help again if I am to drive up and down this road again.

But boy, it's good to be able to make coffee for ourselves, not set an alarm and chill some wine.

The quote is off a memorial by Lake Como - I hope that the writer knew that Jesus is the Creator, and the sacrifice, and the source of freedom and the one to shed blood for our freedom. So many of the quotes were so poignant and sad, and lacked awareness of eternity or hope. The quotes mostly saddened me because they centred on the lessons of history - as if
Mankind can learn the lessons from war and sort it out on their own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.