JackyMT

By JackyMT

Ginnel, Snicket!!!

What do you call it, I call it A Ginnel but there are other names for it and it would be interesting to see what names come from other areas of the world.

Anyhow this is one of the Ginnel's we traverse with the dogs on a local walk.

Nice day today, went shopping to Castleford, needed a couple of keys cutting so went to this key cutting place, instead of my usual shop in the market, no idea why I picked this place, so I showed him the two keys, he said the mortise one would be £8 and the latch £6 I thought thats a bit dear but its awhile since I had any cut maybe this is the price now. Well after two attempts at the one for the mortise lock he said that he couldn't cut it as it had very small grooves and in fact I would be advised to get a new lock, He then did the latch key but ended up giving me two keys as he said it was a very awkward one but he wouldn't charge me for two key's only one, I thought "two right mate" he said one would fit he was sure if not try the other, I said and if neither fits I would be back tomorrow. Anyhow I went off and suddenly thought I would try the one I have been to before so I went to his stall in the market gave him the key for the Mortise lock that the other guy couldn't cut, asked if he could cut one for me, he measured it picked the right key and put it in the machine, no problem at all gave it to me and said £3.50 please I could have kicked myself I bet the other  key would have cost the same from him, not £6. I nearly went back to the other shop and told him he needed a new machine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.