Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, 37

This Prairie Warbler is my 37th yard bird to be blipped this year.  He/she will mark the first of the "fall warblers" that will come through my garden in the next few months.  Many of the warblers are well into their fall migration to the tropics and because I have so much bird activity in my yard, I am fortunate to get some nice migrants through here.  I miss some, of course, because they don't usually stay long and one has to be there at just the right moment.  In this case, SIL, Hubs and I were just sitting down to lunch when I saw a bit of yellow in the garden.  Quick as a blipper, I grabbed a camera and carefully poked it out the back door.  The resulting images are heavily cropped, but good enough to record the species.

I took SIL over to the Home to see MIL today, a joyful experience.  They spent several hours together, while I ran some errands.  It will take some time before MIL remembers that her daughter is living here with us, but I know she will take great joy in seeing her every day.

Today also marked the transfer of ownership on MIL's house in AL to the new owners - another chapter closed, and a huge relief.  Now, we just need to get SIL and Joy (the dog) settled into a rhythm here in NJ.  This is definitely a milestone week in the sprint that started last fall when my BIL passed away so tragically and suddenly.

It rained all day so I didn't spent much time outside.  Long enough, however, to watch the hummies for a little while.  There was a young male zealously guarding one of the feeders from the cherry tree and every time another hummie would approach, he'd launch a ferocious attack.  So funny to watch.  I've posted a shot of him HERE on Flickr, showing his first few bright red feathers.

Thank you for the many generous hearts and stars on yesterday's Hummingbird Clearwing Moth.  I'm trying to catch up with comments, but life is getting in the way a bit...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.