A good time

I enjoyed myself so much this morning.  Seven volunteers from the Rose Society of South Australia turned up at the OGH garden to tackle pruning of our heritage rose collection. 

I can tell you they went through the place like a well-oiled machine.  It was a pleasure to watch them at work.  They are so skilled and knowledgeable - we (that is me and 3 other volunteers from OGH) restricted ourselves to remove all the debris - there was a mountain of it.  I think the Rower is going to be disappointed that he missed it.  There are benefits to staying at home.

The weather was just perfect for gardening.  Cool and overcast, but not raining.

I had a ball - and I have such plans for this place.  It must be in the genes.  My Uncle Billy was head gardener on an estate just outside of Bangor (Northern Ireland) and his father (my grandfather) was also a great gardener.

Who'd have thought I'd get to control a heritage garden here in South Australia. 

It's amazing where life leads you, isn't it?  My world is still full of wondrous things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.