malcornorton

By malcornorton

Happy Birthday to you.

It's my Norton's birthday. A Model 18, 490cc, OHV, she rolled off the production line, at Norton Motors, Bracebridge Street, Aston, Birmingham, today, in 1949, road tested by a Mr. Smith and despatched to Feriday's garage in Wellington, Shropshire, where my uncle George bought it new and used it for many years. When he got a car, the Norton was parked up, outside his wash house, covered in a tarpaulin and old coats. Whenever we visited, all this young lad wanted to do, was to look under the covers at the motorbike ! In 1966, when I was 14 years old, uncle George said that I could have it, if I wanted. Joy ! Loads of bits missing and very rough, but she ran ! My mates and I rode it relentlessly up and down a local lane and then it sat in the family garage, for years. I totally restored it, during 1996 to 1998, doing everything myself, apart from chroming and rewinding the magneto. I'm the second owner from new and I still love it now, as much as that little kid did then !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.