misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A Survivor

This old Lilium rubrum plant bloomed again this year and smells marvelously.
It began in promise in Spring with 5 or 6 stems holding several baby buds. Then the slugs discovered them...
Now there are two stems left with one or two huge flowers blooming on each. Slugs love those tender babies.
This will be dealt with next year now that I have discovered been informed by a graduate of the Master Gardener course of the value of construction grade sand laid out around the base of tender plants.
I probably need to 'sand' my entire property!!

Slugs:
Last month after many days of rain I went outside and discovered slugs climbing up the sides of the tyres/tires and walls of the car!! I hope they were not eating the paint off the doors!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.