Life through the lens...

By ValC

Rain drops

No chance of an outdoor shot today as it has never stopped raining.
So this photo of the raindrops on the geranium buds was taken in the door way.
At least the hanging basket won't need watering.  Or the rest of the garden for that matter.

Thank you all for your kind comments hearts and stars which put my little peacock butterfly on to popular page two.   I was delighted!

I forgot to tell you the names of the wild flower extra on Sunday's blip.https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2340931759597684184

Although I knew some, two I had to look up. One I couldn't find in my wild flower book, and then remembered a book which belonged to my mum.
" The Concise British Flora in Colour"  published in 1967.
written by W. Keble Martin , MA, FLS and with a foreword by 
H.R.H The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh  ( price 35 shillings)

The flower I couldn't identify was  Sneezewort ...Achillea Ptarmica. 
(hope I have got it right)
As soon as I heard the name it rang a bell.
Back to my childhood days, and a book called " The little Grey Men".
Adventures of the last 4 gnomes, each named after a flower:
Baldmoney
Sneezewort
Dodder
Cloudberry
I loved books about the countryside.

So the flowers were,
Top left, harebell,    bottom left, Eyebright.
middle top,   Self Heal ( ?)
middle bottom,  Sneezewort
Right,  Lady's Bedstraw
I hope some blipper will correct me if I have got them wrong. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.