Another Golden Day

Another great day to be in Orkney.  If you are reading this fly here for tomorrow.  I am a man of very few words, and all of them rubbish. If you read this before the watershed then look away now.  Spoiler alert: scrotums are referred to.

However: despite the magnificent heat and sunshine the day was slightly tempered by an almighty struggle with HMRC about Corporation Tax.  The HMRC has levied a fine of £200 for the non return of CT from the Friends of the Hoy Kirk (annual income about £5,500 mainly made up of donations and local grants).  If a ‘Play for Today’ q.v. had featured some of the conversations I’ve had with government officials it would have been deemed far too fanciful - these things would never had happened in real life.  If only. If only.

I was in the very rare state of being apoplectic (a small Greek village we once holidayed in).

Then (after the receiver had melted) and as arranged, I took my Mum through to Kirkwall to attend to some bank business.  On attending the appointment she was informed she hadn’t taken along sufficient I.D.  They didn’t believe it was my Mum.  Oh how we heartily laughed at the wasted journey.  I was so worked up at this stage that I could easily have joined the complaints queue at Flybe or PC World. And won.

And there’s more.  Preparing for dancing tonight I found I couldn’t bend my knee.

However, it has to be said that, to adjust the karma the Postie brought me two bottles of whisky.  Well actually the one is a whiskey being Greenspot, the other is a whisky: Mortlach 15 year old.

The only other news is that our friend from the village told us that our water pipe is leaking at the corner of the road.  And their grandson was flown down to Aberdeen today for an operation.  He was hit in the testicles by a young girl at nursery.  The lift and separate underpants of eternity.

 Now where did I put that rake ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.