Callistemon

You live and learn every day in my humble opinion and a couple of days ago I was given a big lesson in seed collecting by one of the main convenors of the Blue Mountains Conservation Society.

These little Callistemon pods have been sitting on the kitchen bench for the past two days soaking up the warmth of the sun and the living room in general. I was warned this would happen, but imagine my delight when I noticed that the little valve keeping the seeds intact in the pod had actually opened. I couldn't even hazard a guess as to how many seeds are now sitting on the kitchen bench!!

The Society are going to use our shed to house many hundreds of little plants that are just starting their journey in life. They are desperately short of space and were delighted when we offered them some additional space until they can find a bigger headquarters. Many years after the fires went through Wombat Hollow, I set the shed up for just this purpose and it apparently will be a perfect location for them in the short term. I intend to learn a lot from the very clever people who look after the plants from day to day. I might even have to start growing plants from seed myself. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.