Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Learning the Language (4)

My clothesline-series on my leftovers-page is coming to an end, and it's time to choose a subject for the next thirty days. Is there a theme you'd like to see me explore, is there a specific aspect of my town that you want to get to know better? I'm grateful for any ideas or preferences that might help me to narrow down the infinite number of possibilites...

Yesterday was one of those days that turns your world upside down (or vice versa). Thanks to SaraEvans comments and thanks to the photographers she suggested to me I understood that I have been trying to approach my own language or style of photography from the wrong end. 
My mind insists on being the meteorologist of my soul, while my soul insists on being an unpredictable weather system. So, instead of looking out the window and determining what the weather is like right now, my mind tries to describe what my soul should look like. 
All wrong.
The reason I am fascinated by color fields, textures and different kind of forms is simple: They attract my eye. But there are tons of other things that catch my attention - not primarily because of their color, texture or form. So, instead of allowing myself to be attracted by whatever happens to appear before my eyes, I made the mistake  of concentrating on a very limited number of aspects - and my soul protested loudly. Because the question is not: What attracts me? But: Why?
And the photograph I end up shooting is an attempt at answering that question. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.