My beloved Oslo - With Munch on the run

This is really a brilliant thought out and I have saved it to a heavy rainy day like today since it's really close to my work and on my way to the train. 

A thief, Pål Enger, had an obsession with the Norwegian painter Edvard Munch for years, and in 1994 he took a ladder, broke a window and climbed inside our National Gallery, took "Scream" off the wall and run. 
This stencil is placed in a narrow backsreet alley most people in Oslo doesn't know exist. I bet it was here Pål ran with the painting under his arm.  Not a laughing matter, but I must admit that it made me smile when I saw it. 

Pål Enger placed the painting inside a coffee table belonging to a person in his family for some months. They used  the table unknown what was hidden inside.  

Scream was not the first Munch painting he stole. He also stole "Vampyr" by climbing through a window at the Munch museum in 1988.  He got 15 years in prison for the two crimes. 

In prison he decided to start become a painter instead of stealing art. He wanted to make his children and mother proud of him. He had one art exhibition in 2011.  He made painting in strong colours and with a big signature P. Enger  (penger means money in Norwegian). He told the press with a laugh that it is money in art. 

Alas in 2015 he got caught again, this time he had stolen 15 paintings in a gallery. 12 of them was painted by the famous artist Pushwagner.

The security has changed after all the stolen paintings by Enger and others. The security level has changed the atmosphere in the museums and I'm not enjoying it so much as before, but one of these days I will visit the National Gallery to see their exciting new exhibition. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.