A maid's 'room'

If I were to get a maid, this is where she would be expecting to sleep. It's a small space behind the kitchen door, with a teeny tiny room which has a shower, washbasin and toilet crammed in.

You'll often see maids out with the local families caring for the children. Some look happy, some not. For some expats it's also an option to have one. I believe there are government agencies where you can recruit from, with very strict transfer rules.

While a small part of me thinks I'd be helping to support someone's impoverished family in most likely an Asian country, it really isn't something that feels right for me at all.

So this space shall remain as a laundry type space.

It's been a long, busy week and I hope I've made it to the shortlist for a glass of something only available at the Embassy tomorrow night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.