PhilattheBeach

By PhilattheBeach

An Explosion Of Pink

We made a quick pass through the marsh area this afternoon and stopped when I spotted an alligator in the salt marsh side where they normally don't go.

But while standing there looking at the gator, I glanced further down the marsh and saw this roseate spoonbill feeding there among the oyster beds.

This is really an older bird. I loved seeing his orange tail feathers and the pink tips accents on his neck, all signs indicating a mature individual.

Considering we almost didn't go over at all, and only at the last minute did I throw the camera in the car, I was pleased to be able to spend a little time watch and photographing this big pink fluff ball.

Sadly though, the spoonie was limping, and appeared to have suffered some sort of injury to one of it's legs or foot.
Stepping on a crab or getting in a scuffle with another bird are both possibilities as a cause for the limp. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.