A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Being three...

Is not always easy. See, you have all these emotions bumbling up, and you don't always know how to express them. Today was a rough day for Olivier. It started super well, with both boys in my bed, Henri taking a break from his grunting, Oli up a bit too early but in a good mood. He insisted on giving toys to his brother, setting is little cars around him. We were starting to get ready for daycare when suddenly, the wind shifted. And then suddenly, we were stuck in a gigantic tantrum/meltdown, about cereals to begin, and then about everything. There were no ways to reach Olivier, he was too tired and too worked up. It lasted about an hour, and at some point, every inhabitant of our little house was crying. Usually, tantrums are manageable. But I had never seen one like this, and I don't think Olivier knew how to come back from it.
We had a quiet evening after daycare and an early night, with cuddles and stories, and I reminded him that tomorrow is another day. And that no matter how old he gets, how angry or frustrated he is, he'll always be my baby.

(Today, I sat down with the anesthesiologist to discuss what happened to me during my surgery. He took the time to explain to me that it was just a perfect storm, and that it wouldn't happen again. I was reassured. We often complain about issues in our health system, but I have to say that it's doctors and nurses like the ones who took care of Henri and I that make it work inspite of all the budget cuts and bureaucracy.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.