Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Not bad for March...

wide view at seaside
heavy clouds over water
grey as polished slate


We were supposed to drive to Julie's Dad's for lunchtime... We got in the car, I drove for about two hundred metres... and it stopped. :-O There was no way I could get it to start again. There was a pervasive smell (stink, more like) of petrol. I called my insurance's assistance service. A guy came in under an hour and moved the car to the back of his truck. Seeing that there was petrol on the road, he opened the bonnet (having an idea of what the problem could be) and sure enough, he found that one of the pipes bringing petrol to the engine was disconnected. He reconnected it and presto! the car started at the first press of the start button!

As I was already on the reserve tank, and I had lost some petrol on the road, I wasn't sure I'd have enough to get to the closest service station, so he drove me there. Then I drove back home, we had lunch and we were finally able to drive to Julie's Dad's, approximately three hours later than expected.

We paused for a few minutes, then drove to the seaside. Very windy and not very warm (to say the least!), but wonderful. Two extras...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.