plus ça change.

My city has changed dramatically over the past 20 years. I was passing my local newsagent and saw this tatoo artist's sign and it stopped me in my tracks. Change happens and sometimes it creeps up on us and catches us out. Sometimes it is sudden and it catches us, unprepared. It can come alongside in a threatening way or it can happen in a way which allows us to accept that difference is not a threat. That diversity is good and that we are not lone individuals, apart from society. I am a theologian by academic discipline. The word "saint" or believer, is never found in the singular in the Christian bible. It is always saints, believers, people in plural form. We are made for relationships and new things present new opportunites for us to grow. We need to embrace that difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.