Flight School

Every summer at this time of year, the adult barn swallows conduct intensive flying lessons for their young in preparation for the long flight south that they will be embarking upon at the end of August.  They use the old telephone line that connects the big barn with the house as a launching spot, and mom and dad chivvy and nag their babies to take a leap of faith and trust their wings.  It's always great fun to watch, but it also makes me a little sad because it's a sign that summer is coming to a close.

The other day as I was walking through the barn, I did notice a nest filled to bursting with small  babies shouting for their dinner.  It surprised me that this clutch is so late.  I hope they manage to figure out the whole flying thing in time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.