Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Hawker

Although the Brown Hawker is the dragonfly that I see most frequently, that's usually when it is in flight, and I rarely catch up with one for a photo, so I was pleased with this one this evening, even if the background is a bit busy.

It had been the first warm, sunny day for a while, so I went for a walk around Tong Park after work. There were a few butterflies about, but it seems quieter than a couple of weeks ago: Peacock, Meadow Brown, Small White and Small Copper being all that I saw. There was one exciting hoverfly though, what I think is Volucella inanis, which is a first for me. I've popped it on iSpot to see if anyone can confirm the id.

Earlier, on campus, I did see a couple of Small Tortoiseshell along with several Small White but again, it's been a quiet year for butterflies in the city centre.

One more day at work then a solid couple of weeks off, which will be my main summer break. It'll be filled with a few days in Wales and various other short trips and excursions, plus plenty of at home time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.