At last

Although not strictly part of the re-roofing project which started on 18th April, it was hoped new windows that were ordered around that time would be fitted during the time the dirt and dust of the roof work was being done.

However when the roofers moved out after 63 days on 19th June, there was no sign of any windows - the fly screens though had arrived at the window company.

Today Andreas came to do the work, as always with great care. As usual with renovation/replacement jobs, one or two unexpected matters arose when one gets to see what is actually behind the facade but he mastered these with calm and patience.

Well done Andreas.

Angie then set about cleaning up and started to paint the inside framing and the very old heating radiator below the windows. Not a thankful task and I have to admit not one I would have undertaken. I tried persuading Angie that a new efficient heating panel would be much more efficient from the performance and the time/effort she put in. However have to applaud her work.

This evening in a Nacht und Nebel Aktion - Night and Fog Operation - or better covert or dawn raid, I undertook a "Dusk Raid". Totally unexpected but circumstances required a 276km round trip to pick up a used stand-alone kitchen oven.

Long story that I had actually written and then one false keyboard touch and it was all gone. So that's for another day. The 135km outward journey to Bopfingen due north of here went well in 69 minutes. The return 141km journey with a SatNav somehow set to panoramic drive (in the dark) went all wrong and took 99 minutes and cost me lots of nerves and will in due course cost Angie probably 20-30€ when the speeding ticket flutters through the letterbox - luckily I was in her car!

Bopfingen is no doubt a picturesque medieval town worthy of a few hours exploration. My time was limited to quickly grabbing a take away Kebab from probably the only place open in the sleepy place. Managed to get one photo on the mobile as I returned to car from the take away - see Extra Photo. I have placed todays Map Geotag on Bopfingen rather than on the main photo - I know where my bedroom is.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.