an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Ikea in the Head

Today we decided to do a very stupid thing. We decided to go to Ikea on a wet Sunday. So we headed over to the wrong side of the tracks and on the way Girl was sick in the usual car journey way and we also assessed a possible new bed for Boy at another store which we are going to go with.

This should have made the Ikea visit easier but it was never going to be easy. It had not been open long but was already full meaning we had to park in the wet, meaning we would be loading in the wet.

Once in we decided to start with an early lunch which was good as not long after the masses came to eat. We then headed into the Swedish playhouse world to confirm our previous bed choice and then start to look for the other things on our list.

It was probably about an hour in when the air got hot and the stress started to take over. Around the same time we were in the childrens area where I was trying to measure some strange sounding shelving to the soundtrack of every instore child crying and screaming as they were taken away from all the dayglo play things. Whilst destroying my free paper measure in a rage as I failed to locate some special red tubs I looked over at boy who was grinning away as he wedged himself into some sort of storage tub whilst his sister lay seige on a castle.

The further we continued through the market place, full of masses of people all going at Saturday shopper speed (on a Sunday) the bigger the trollies got and the more bored the little ones got, and the more annoyed I got and so then the more annoyed Wife got. At one point I actually became the man who loses it in that store as I raised my voice at an unlistening Girl. I got a few glares from the childless and a few knowing and forgiving looks from parent (though inside they were really ecstatic that it was me and not them having the breakdown). Almost out we hit the picture frames were I went mad. I could no longer complete simple maths failing to be able to round up 39 to 40 or 49 to 50 when required.

I did managed to buy a piece of boring generic framed Ikea art in order to deface it with a bigger, better piece of local art back home which I have been struggling with for a while.

As usual I nearly collapsed at the grand total on the way out before then trying to fit too much stuff into the car whilst a next gluton for punishment waited in their car for us to free up a space for them in the blue and yellow nightmare.

Nightmare behind us we could actually appreciate how good the little ones had actually been, considering they had been stuck in a quite boring and at times unchild friendly place for so long, mainly in trollies. They had behaved better than me anyway.

Once home I set about the unload, unpack and put away. As I loaded the trees worth of frames into the loft I noticed a damp patch on the floor. Not being the perpetrator and with Boy being downstairs I looked around until at the point where the chimney breast (that we have just had work on) meets the roof I found the drip. A drip, and just when todays excursion was behind us and the day had started to be looking better. The weather is bad and still the rain continues, and so does the headache.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.