Sandhill Crane....

Today was a real "wildlife" day! I took a long walk this morning and saw one of the eagles come swooping out of the woods--heard the "whoosh" of its' wings before I saw it! . Later I drove into town to pick up a few things at the convenience store, and on the way there, as I rounded a curve, the doe and her two fawns were standing right in the middle of the road. I had to hit the brakes and they ran off into the brush. As I turned my head to watch them, I spotted 2 sandhill cranes standing just off the edge of the road. (I had no idea what they were as I'd never seen them before---they looked a bit like herons except for the red on their heads so had to look them up).  On the way back I stopped to watch a bunch of  wild turkeys crossing the road.... it was the same stretch of road where my niece spotted the bear yesterday, so I was hoping for a glimpse of it, but didn't see it. 
My brother had texted me earlier to say that he & my sister-in-law had come up to their cottage for the weekend; it's only a couple of miles from my sisters' place, so I stopped in for a visit. We ended up playing a few games of cribbage, which made me think of my dad! My dad spent countless hours sitting at that same table teaching each of us in turn  how to play cribbage--his favorite card game--and once we'd all learned it we'd spend hours playing it with him on rainy evenings in the cottage! :)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.