Moving A Building....

Yesterday, I posted that my barn, that I have used for 6 1/2 years, was moved.  The photos were all on my iPhone and I couldn't post  these pictures to my unused extras.  While I know the pics are supposed to be  taken the day of, I thought the story of moving this building warranted a different circumstance.
     This is the trailer with it's hydraulic frame lifted into the air.  A heavy-duty winch at the the 5th wheel was attached to the skids on the bottom of the barn structure.  It then began pulling the barn up and forward.  The hardest part was getting the barn up far enough to slide the frame under the barn.  As the barn moved up and forward, the the frame was lowered a couple of inches at a time.  Bit by bit, the building went up and forward.  Once the building was over the first roller, welded into the frame, the building began rolling forward.... and then lowered down inch by inch.  It was a forward, up roll, down;  forward, up,rolling, down.  Amazing to watch happen!!!
    I have tried to put the extra photos up in the sequence they occurred.  I think they are backwards.  The first pic is the barn going down the road, safe and sound...  until it went under the telephone wires.  Once again, one of the men had to get out, get a pvc pipe and hold the wire up so they could travel underneath safely.  The middle pic is after coming through the gate, the vent in the roof caught on my internet wire and the power lines into my house.  The last picture shows how very tight it was getting the barn through the gate.  The driver decided to be safe.  He stopped, dug up a post and took down a short piece of the fence to get through without hurting anything.  After the barn was out, he put the post back in, hung the gates, and then moved out on down the road.....  The fourth pic is the other side where the post was removed and the short piece of fence was removed.
    What an experience.  The barn went 62 miles, east to Oklawaha where it arrived safely and is now part of a bonsai nursery.   
I LOVE IT WHEN A PLAN COMES TOGETHER......... Successfully!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.