One Of The Best Days .....

..... that you can imagine!
A group from Nature Photographic Society headed over to Tumbledown Bay today, on the southern side of Banks Peninsula. We were so lucky with the weather, the company was perfect, the scenery was magic and as for the birds and the seals, we couldn't have done better.

This little baby fur seal seemed to be trying to get cool, and was stretching and twisting, into amazing poses.

We saw shags in their nesting plumage, high on a cliff near the seastack,  - it was a very exposed situation and I think we all did very well at staying safe. I blipped that seastack (called Boaz) a few months ago. The bay itself is very beautiful. 

And on the way home I stopped at the Kaituna River, to see if I could find some of Horomaka's grebes, Sure enough, there they were.
I've put images of a shag, grebes, and the bay, into Extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.