This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

Sweet Rufus made it through the night and the earliest appointment was at 2:20 in the afternoon. We waited and hoped for the best until then.

We talked to the vet and later that night I sent out this note to my close friends and family.

As some of you know Rufus hasn't been that well recently and he took a turn for the worse yesterday and I was not sure he would make it through the night but he did.

The deal was if he made it through the night I would take him to the vet this morning. The earliest appointment was 2:30 today. I took him and he was very dehydrated again and he was given a full exam again and they said that all they could do was hydrate him for me (which they did, it only took a few minutes) and that it was just time for "nursing care or hospice" so he is back home with me resting in bed. I have water and chicken stock to give him by syringe if he is inclined and no more medicine.

The vet estimates he has a week. I estimate less. So, I am going to be staying close to home to be with him and take the best care of him I can.

I know this all sounds matter of fact but I am very sad about this. The vet said he was in no pain and that she didn't think he would be in any, so I have decided to let nature take its course. He has been the best cat I have known and I love him very much. This is hard but I am hanging in there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.