Jado

By Jado

An artist, Nicky Thompson, has created a number of ‘up to date’ versions of iconic 1930’s railway posters, all focused on stations on the line from Manchester to Chester via Altrincham.  They are on display at the Lion Salt Works Museum near Northwich and since (a) I wanted to see the posters, and (b) I’d never been to the Lion Salt Works Museum, that sort of clinched it for today.  I bought a reproduction if the Stockport poster – it is brilliant, as is the museum :-)
 
But that didn’t take all day, so I went to the Anderton Boat Lift, which is nearby, and which always has a ‘wow factor’ no many how times you go.
 
But that didn’t take all day either, so I set the SatNav to take me to Burton Mere Wetlands, but entered the wrong postcode so I ended up at a roundabout 11 miles away from where I’d intended to be!  But I made it to Burton Mere eventually – it’s an RSPB site – loads of birds, but I had more fun trying to photograph dragon flies and lizards!  Yes, believe it or not, in the cold and wet North West of England we have lizards (common lizards) who sun themselves in the little sun we get.  Amazing :-)
 
The photos of the lizards aren’t very good – I should have turned off continuous focusing and 7 frames per second for a lizard which wasn’t moving - but I was geared up for fast moving birds!  But I had to use a lizard shot as the main blip, simply because these little guys were the real surprise of the day.
 
The extras are the rest of my day out, which really was a great day out :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.