BBC 6

This week's Blackheath Blipper's Challenge, as set by Trisharooni, is at St Aidan's Anglican Church in Blackheath. It's an attractive property which is seen to advantage by many non-congregation visitors during the annual flowershow - held as part of the Rhododendron Festival every year.

I understand that there has been a church on this site since 1880 and that the main building, in its present form, dates from 1902. The grounds are lovely and if you are a regular churchgoer I cannot imagine a more tranquil, charming place to have services.

If one is restricted to a single exterior picture, I think it has to be the lovely old entrance vestibule. This has obviously had some recent restoration but the original look of the feature well and truly shines through. It really does lend itself to some gentle Silver Efex antiquity style processing - I thought I'd get in first, this time.

I DO have this secret fondness for painterly HDRs although I know that it's mostly out of fashion these days .... awww, since when was I ever IN fashion. HERE is a painterly colour version of the church entrance - just for fun.

Trisharooni's Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.