Naked Shadow

Got back from camp this morning as Marlane and daughter Johanna were leaving to go to Trynitys' 2nd birthday party. I wasn't suitably dressed to just go and also had all the gear to sort out, tent to unpack, brush and wash the groundsheet, re-waterproof the outer tent, 'Fly sheet' I think we used to call it.  including that there were 4 loads of washing as I did my kilt and walking shoes too. Should have had a photo taken in my utility kilt, I don't think you've seen me in it.

'Naked Shadow' because I've been taking off the stickers and bits over the past week and finished off today with removing the seats so I could disconnect the SatNav cabling. I'm leaving the windshield and fog lamps on as I can't use them on the CTX.
I'm very sad about the Shadow and I parting company but I will be more comfortable on a bigger powered bike when I do those long journeys. CTX, by the way, is what Honda describes as 'Comfort, Technology and EXperience', certainly has all of that in the build of the bike.

For those interested in the technology bit.
Some reviews knock the CTX for being 'Underpowered'. Believe me, it's not, but the 1261cc engine is a re-engineered, V4, ST1300 from the Pan European. The BHP is dropped from 117 to 83 but that 83bhp is spread through all 5 gears so it will open up in top as well as in 3rd or 4th as it gives a low rev delivery with a broad spread of torque that peaks at around 4,500rpm. It's very smooth and is shaft driven.
The engine has softer camshafts than the ST1300 and revised fuel injection and exhaust system that gives the lower bhp.

I am looking forward to enjoying the CTX as much as I've enjoyed the Shadow but with a totally different experience in riding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.