Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Looking Out

I've always loved Bonsai trees. I adore the way their leaves grow as miniature versions of normal trees. They take a long time to achieve a perfect form so I wish I'd started to grow one, years ago when I first studied how to shape them.

Anyhow last year we were in the same position at Dalston Agricultural Show opposite these guys from Carlisle Bonsai Club and they did inspire me to start one off. Its a rowan and is still alive!

Anyhow, it seems you don't have to start off with a seedling. During the day I watched one of the experts snipping away at a large plant such as you might by from a garden centre. I watched while he bent it and restrained it with wires. The tree was in a raffle for it so I bought tickets hoping to win it. I didn't!

What I did win was a brolly that someone stuffed into the bin beside our marquee. One of the little sewn on ends had popped off its spoke so I popped it back on and rolled it up! It was one of those layered ones that won't blow inside out. As it is plain black and bears no advertising, unlike our last brolly find, I have a perfect use for it!

Just noticed - it might have once belonged to the man in the picture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.