Three Loons Socializing

As I planned I kayaked out early this morning in search of loons on our small lake.  It did not go well; I saw three, but they were moving quickly and diving often; I managed only a few so-so images.  But as we sat down for lunch on our balcony overlooking the water three birds came quite close, and stayed for quite a while.  They were interacting constantly, much more closely than in the morning,  behaving as I had never seen them before--circling, making similar head gestures, and more. One did an extensive wing flap (see the extra)--I took 28 continuous shots over nearly three seconds; the extra came near the end.  (Four loon blips from my 2011 stay start here.) 
I'll have more on this stay here tomorrow; we leave for the family house in Tamworth (ca. 90 minutes across the border in New Hampshire).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.