Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

A feast of poppies

speaking french english
with a german painteress
obsessed with poppies


I realised a bit at the last minute (well, on the last day) that the art festival called "Empreintes d'artistes" was about to close. So I rushed again into the village in the afternoon, especially as I wanted to see the work of someone Julie's father knows. She works with wood and does things I rather like (first extra). The German lady in the main photo, Cornelia Enax, is currently doing a residency in a village nearby. I'll go visit her before she goes back to Germany (at the end of the month). The story behind her interest for poppies is rather moving: she found a trove of photos in her grandfather's belongings, photos taken during the war, among which poppies figured prominently. And she quoted John McRae: "In Flanders fields the poppies blow"

Other extra: outside the gallery (situated in the town hall).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.