Amazing.....

Some days are just sublime!
Yesterday someone living 10 miles up the road from me  posted a shot of this lovely Convolvulus hawk moth Agrius convolvuli,  saying it was struggling and asking what it was, as I was so close I offered to help, but the guy replied saying the moth had sadly died. He did however say I could have it anyway, and left it out for me in a container in an outside porch. 
Well, I collected the moth this morning and when I got him home realized he wasn't in fact dead at all so I have placed him in my large flight cage with nectar laden plants hoping he will make it, but at this moment it doesn't look good :-)
In the meantime I was able to take a few shots of this amazing stunning huge moth.
With a wing span of over 10cm the Convolvulus hawk moth is a migrant in Britain occurring most often in late summer or autumn usually with influxes of other migrant species.
It usually turns up at light and feeds on garden flowers, being especially fond of Tobacco plant. 
I can't thank the person enough who made it possible for me to hold (and photograph) this stunning moth.... a real special moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.