Final Round

As if to reflect my mood, the clouds were about this morning and so we moved our activities from the pool to the horses sand riding school for a few rounds of showing Grandpa how to be a good loser at boules. Flash played umpire and had a tennis ball ready in case I lost my boules in the undergrowth or stream.

Being so far behind with the diary, I am no longer sure but think the children did manage one quick splash before lunch and the trip to the airport. Again two of the three security lanes were empty, so it was a very rapid waving off from a distance.

As they disappeared towards the shops, I turned to go very sad and with a tear in my eyes when I felt a tap on my arm. Turned around and was "confronted" by a group of four smiling at me. I was a million miles away and totally taken aback and certainly couldn't work out who, what and why. Then it suddenly dawned on me - one of them was Farmer Christian from he village with whom I have had as good as no direct contact and then always when he has been in his standard (for Bavaria) farmers gear. 99% of our contact has been waving to one another from our respective John Deere tractors or more usually me waving from the Jeep. Felt very embarrassed about my initial blank expression! They just happened to pop p to the airport to look at the possibilities for perhaps taking a short holiday in the near future. Trying to make up I did offer to look after the farm when they were away!

So another Summer Family Tour done and apart from missing Laura who couldn't get time off work, a great success and plans being hatched for perhaps one more visit, incl. Laura, before the year is out.

I am so grateful to all of them for taking the time and effort to get over and also to Angie for tirelessly working behind the scenes to make it possible. It has been a stressful year for her especially with the roof/PV.
   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.