In My World

By JoanneInOz

Does anyone give a fig?!

I had a bit of a change of pace today, staying indoors for the first time in over a week, trying to catch up on a few things around the house, (and still trying!!).

It turned out to be a pretty good day to spend indoors after all, as we had a bit of a storm during the afternoon, which only lasted about 5 minutes, but it was the most rain we've had in weeks!

At around lunchtime, my camera and I took a walk around the garden and as I could hear plenty of birds twittering happily in the trees, I took a look up.

There in the bare branches of the Pecan Nut Tree sat a number of the same variety of bird, sitting quietly enough for me to take a few really clear photos of them.

These birds were unknown to me, just as the Spangled Drongo I blipped yesterday was, 'til I looked him up and found out what he was!

So, after a little bit of Googling, I have discovered that today's latest backyard bird discovery is an Female Australasian Figbird.

Now my next question is, who is growing figs in my area?!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.