Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Light a candle in the dark

Light a candle for the sinners... set the world on fire.

All last week I've been shut away at home recuperating, out of the sunlight, the rain and wind, safely tucked up in bed. Today is my first day back at work today after being off sick.

I found this diffraction grating in the lab, nestled in a black velvet-lined box, and I felt an affinity for it. You have to find the right angle to photograph it from, otherwise it just looks like a silvered piece of glass. As soon as you find the right angle, though, you see white light burst apart into a riot of colour.

I particularly liked how worn this grating is. There are scratches and fingerprints on it, but it's all the more beautiful for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.