Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Roses

I had to go into Glasgow on Monday and decided that I would extend my visit by visiting one of the city's parks and having a wander round.

Then I remembered that Tollcross Park has an excellent series of rose beds and they might provide me with my blip for the day. (They did!)

What I hadn't realised until I saw the notices on site was that the display of roses was actually part of a scheme called the International Rose Trials. The following information has been copied from the Glasgow City Council website:

"The International Rose Trials take place each year within Tollcross Park. New rose varieties are planted each year and once established, the roses are regularly inspected by a panel of experts. Over two summers the roses are assessed for their health, beauty of flower, freedom of bloom, and general effect. The International Rose Trials will take place on Friday 25 August 2017."

I just hope the rain doesn't spoil the plants even further over the next ten days, otherwise there may be very few roses left to judge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.