The old dairy, Mount Stuart

I spent part of the morning on Bute before the weather got the better of me.

The main ferry service from Wemyss Bay went off around lunchtime because of the wind and I had been warned when coming across from Colintraive first thing that I should not delay my return on that route either.

So, as I had some other events I had to attend in Cowal and elsewhere , I was substituted for by the two SNP Councillors on Bute at a presentation of a petition about ferries - I will come back for a discussion of the matter I promise - and got away late morning.

During my truncated tour of some of the Bute Estate, I was shown this very lovely 19th century dairy at the Mount Stuart Home Farm. It has a beautiful dolphin shaped fountain inside it, but is not presently used for anything. A great shame, for it also has a wonderful view across to the Ayrshire coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.