Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

DCC Programming on the fly

Finally - a new computer and I got my test track built.  Right track is N scale, left track Sn3.  Currently reading in the sound decoder stats for a little N scale DRGW S2 switcher.

The small (1 1/2" by 2 1/2") white box on the paper pile is a SPROG IIv3 magic jewel from our friends in the UK.  It attachs to my iMac via a USB cord.  It comes with a 12 v power supply as well.  The software it connects to is by JRMI called Decoder Pro.  Don't ask me how all of this works, but it is magic I think.

The program lets me adjust or program the decoder in the locomotive, save the changes, and run the locomotive to see if I like the changes.  For instance, adjusting the sound voluntary of the motor.  Instead of using a CV and my DCC system to program the volume on the layout by changing the value of a particular CV, the program gives me a slider to adjust the sound - up or down.  Every sound the decoder makes has its own slider so you can get just want you want.  Amazing.  And super easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.