Moonlight Dance

This mural is in a tiny park at the beginning of town, and is about to be replaced after 24 years, so I thought I'd better get down there and take a few pictures. The city's Art Commission recently voted to commission a new mural "to keep the public art collection fresh and offer opportunities to new artists."  At first I was a little shocked that the existing artwork would be destroyed, but the muralist, Peter Bartczak, had this to say in a statement he submitted to the Commission:

I agree with the decision to replace it. It’s time to give another artist a chance to put their vision on that wall, which, by the way, is one of the best locations in town as far as visibility is concerned.


I want to thank the Arts Commission for awarding me the mural project and the City of Santa Cruz for recognizing the importance of art in our lives. Images area a direct, powerful way to touch people deeply and public art has the ability and the responsibility to inspire the public. A life without images, music, literature, or dance would be a pretty depressing world. 


Art has always been an important positive force in my life and each mural I have painted has been an opportunity to use my talents to do the sacred job that artists have done for ages – to help a community define itself to its members, to celebrate its uniqueness, and to renew its sense of wonder and gratitude.


When I first heard of the commission in 1993, I nearly sprained by brain for two weeks trying to come up with a concise image that would define what I loved the most about this town. At first I thought of whales, redwoods, and Victorians—but that was just scratching the surface and getting caught up in details. At the time, my late wife, a few friends, and I would celebrate in a mother goddess/pagan sort of way at the beach – dancing around a bonfire at night, shouting, laughing, and singing – being goofy and grateful that we lived in a great time and great place.


It hit me in a flash that what I loved about Santa Cruz was the environment, the people, and the magic. A beach was a no brainer for the environment. The people part was trickier – they had to be vague, otherwise even if I showed a hundred different people, it would be inevitable that I would leave some group out. Silhouettes served that purpose. And dancing by the moon was magic.


Santa Cruz, this country, and each of us have moved on since the mural was created. We are not what we were back then and we need a new image to help push us forward into the future. I say to that new artist – have at it with passion, beauty, and humor. I look forward to seeing your dream on that wall.

I guess if he can let it go, so can I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.