Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Painted Rock

I found this rock at a gas station in Marmet, West Virginia on top of the gas pump.   On the back is a note that says FB, Coal River Rocks.  I know that the painted rock craze is all in my area of the country as I have found some rocks but just let them be for others to find.  Now I know it is probably a nationwide craze.   Because,  I found another rock on a bench in the cemetery where my grandparents and aunts and uncles are buried. It had on the back a sticker which said PittsburghPaintedRocks on FB.  

After researching the rock thing, I found that I should post a photo on the Facebook site as to where the rock was found  and then move it  to another location for someone else to find.   I did post on the Pittsburgh rock page and a girl responded that it was her rock!  Yeah!   

I have the rocks here at home and will put them somewhere next time I am out and about, maybe on a trail or on the riverwalk.   If someone finds them, I hope they will understand that the rock has traveled 500 miles.  

Like a scavenger hunt, now I will be looking for painted rocks every time I travel...oh wait...I already do look for rocks to bring home without painting on them.  Maybe I should paint some of them and send them back out into the world.  Who knows where they might end up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.