River Crossings

When I was asked to work on a Mountain Leader Training course this week I wasn't really phased by the Security on Steep Ground or Emergency Procedures* days - I know I've a good reputation in those areas and if I was going to employ me then that's where I'd use me too.
Then I was asked to do the river crossings and rescues and I thought ok, that'll be fun, I've done some specific courses for this....but I'd not grasped that I'd be running it on my own - quite a step up. It seems like a little thing, but I know that it's C's reputation as the course provider that he's putting on the line with me - in turn I'd like to think he knows how seriously I take that. So I've done a lot of preparation for today - a good throwback to my blip last week about the (many) P's.
I've kept an eye on river levels the last few days, and they've been nuts, I was starting to get a little concerned. Fortunately some good advice from my waterbaby friends suggested a venue that whilst it rises fast it also falls fast - so this afternoon found it 2-3ft lower than 24hrs earlier. I was mightily relieved. Sadly for the trainees it wasn't any warmer :-)
Where you see them in the Blip was described as "absolutely no way" when we arrived, but some progressive coaching and technique training, a lot of practice , practice and more  practice eventually made it fun - especially for me as I stayed on the bank!

*Rope Stretchers have a bad reputation - they're complex, they take too long and they're often done wrong. Hmphhhh, I like ropes. This took my trainees 4 minutes after one demo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.