AsTheRomansDo

By AsTheRomansDo

The best thing you can do with Roman ruins

As I think many other tourists to Rome have done before me, it is easy to become a little blasé towards the ancient ruins (normally unmarked) that litter the streets. So it was to my great excitement that whilst walking past the torre Argentina on my Sunday afternoon stroll, I came across a rather special set of ruins. Ok, so as well as being the site of a rather important Roman temple, these ruins have been converted into a cat sanctuary, which, as an avid cat person, I think is a great idea. Seeing the cats lounging in the shade of the columns, and playing in the long grass, it is hard to believe that the Romans didn't have this use in mind when they first built their temple. It seems that cats love ruins as much as they love boxes and sinks.

Further internet research has informed me that it is even possible to foster kittens for short periods. A topic I look forward to broaching with my future flatmates ;)

Baci,
Eleanor

p.s. I promise that it is only coincidental that my first post happens to be cat related. I will try to find something other than cats to write about in future posts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.