Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Two Journals, Two Concepts

My second journal leftovers is gaining momentum, and I’m very happy about that. Comments have increased, with some showing a preference for the pictures I publish there over the ones I blip here.


The concepts behind the two journals are very different. What I do here in my main journal goes way beyond photography. The day I started photographing (and blipping) less than a year ago my life changed. Photography put me on a journey that has allowed me to rediscover myself, my biography, my curiosity, my creativity, my social life, and the world I live in (which, as you all know, went from ugly to inspiring). The discovery of Experimental Photography less than half a year ago was a decisive step in this process. It unlocked a world of almost unlimited possibilities. That’s when I began to actively and consciously mold the little world I live in and the way I see it.
Leftovers, my secondary journal, began as a side project. Its purpose was (and is) to explore a specific theme for 30 days. It’s a simple way of focusing my attention on a single aspect of the town I live in. It’s an exercise in training the eye. It was never meant to be more than that. I don’t experiment, don’t question myself, don’t do any soul searching, sometimes I don’t even care much. I just shoot. The photography I practice there is more ordinary, more traditional, and more beautiful perhaps.
All the things I learn here end up influencing the things I do over there. This journal is a journey. The other one is just nice pictures. However, the fact that you enjoy those pictures inspires me, and I will invest more energy and effort in creating pictures you can enjoy – be it here or there.
 
Today’s blip is a direct result of yesterday’s technique – taken to the extreme. Radical overexposure tends to eliminate a lot of details. I just love how the few details left are still able to convey a complete image.
(I always shoot in RAW-mode. I don’t know if this kind of photography works with JPEG. Post-processing in Photoshop’s CC Raw is essential for rescuing whatever information is stored in the original RAW-file. The original file is almost completely white. I had to make radical use of some sliders in CC Raw.)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.