Bucky at the Grand Mosque

Bucky was treated to a trip to the Grand Mosque this morning. A great perk of teaching in my current job is that with only one 3 o'clock lesson today, I'm free to do whatever I want until then.

I've been here a few times over the last month and it has always been fairly quiet. Today though, it was jam-packed with tourists. Luckily, I know the secret little places nobody else does as Bucky was a little shy today.

As it turns out, this morning's venture was rather eventful. A young lady from Manchester caught me taking a few shots and started up a conversation about my camera and what I'd recommend for someone who wants to learn more about photography as they travel from place to place.

You can probably guess it didn't take long for the subject of blipfoto to come up. I explained the ethos behind the site and how I myself have from phonecam to Canon DSLR in a very short time. Whilst I eagerly await the arrival of my blipcards, and with the absence of any phones or bits of paper, she had to memorise my URL. It'll be interesting to see if she does indeed pop up in the future. If she's does, she'll be my fourth blipfoto recruit!

The second eventful thing that happened was that a bird shat on me. Not just on me, I might add, but all over my nice new camera bag too.

For a split second, I wondered if a higher being was not happy with me taking photos of orange rubber ducks in a sacred building and that a message would be sent in the form of a 'sign' to reawaken my primary school belief in such things.

But then I thought, nah, a bird just took a dump and I was in the way. At the mosque entrance (where I am definitely recognised now) was a group of nice Omani gentlemen who, after demonstrating the universal language for bird (two hands linked at the thumbs whilst the fingers flap) and poo (tongue between lips and blow), took pity and helped to clean some of it off.

Bucky found the whole thing highly amusing.



-------
If you'd like to catch up on the Adventures of the Duck so far, just type BuckyBlip into the Blip Search tool.

Keep your eyes peeled for more Bucky Does Muscat blips soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.