Looking Down

I was working on the barge boards at the end of the red house today. (See extra)
First I made a copy of one of the old boards that came from the left side of the roof. Then I used that on both sides to check for size and angle.
Many people assume that the right side of the house is the same size as the left side, but that fails to take into account that these handbuilt wooden houses are fairly organic structures. 
Having said all that I ws surprised to find that the roof on the right is only 20 mm longer than the roof on the left! The boards are now cut to size and are in the cellar for painting, as it's due to rain tomorrow.
I really thought the barge boards would be my blip for today but standing on the balcony on the Red House I looked down and saw these rather dramatic angles and lines, so that's today's picture!
(Which shows the need for work on that balcony - another project for the future.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.