Scattered Polaroids

By sp

Woken up by a phone call from my mum at about 4 to say my grandad had died. We had a good cry on the phone. I was instructed to wake Graham up for a hug, which I did.

Didn't sleep after that. Headed back to Bracknell when it was a more sociable hour. Lots of sympathetic smiles from strangers on the journey so I must've looked a state.

Keith and Naomi were there and Selena and Harry too. We went out for lunch in the countryside, and looked at the chickens and pigs (and a daschund puppy) afterwards.

Back home for more cups of tea and biscuits and chats. I phoned work to ask if they needed me back for Friday and they told me to stay home another day. In the evening Selena drove us out to Warfield for a walk.

Such a tough day but we managed to smile too. He lived 91 good years and died peacefully, so we kept reminding ourselves and each other of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.