Thursday: Fred

I worked from home today so that I could go to a hospital appointment with K.

For a good part of the day (when I wasn't working, of course) I tried to take a photo of the hummingbird that was on our feeder. Given that I'm posting a photo of Fred you can see how successful I was.

I owe you an update on Fred anyway. I mentioned some time ago that he had some blood tests to ascertain why his calcium levels are so high. We spoke to the vet a couple of weeks ago and turns out Fred is a rarity. He has a tumour very close to his thyroid which is affecting his calcium levels. The position of the tumour makes it risky to even do a biopsy.

There are two scenarios: either the tumour is benign and we just continue to monitor him to make sure he is basically OK, or its malignant but Is very slow growing as his levels aren't changing. It's a rare condition, to the extent that our vet consulted with a cat oncologist in Toronto. She apparently said that, if it was her cat, she'd just leave him be, particularly due to the risks around surgery. And in view of his age, that's what we'll do. He seems absolutely fine at the moment so that's pretty positive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.