Unplanned

I was on my way up to Old Government House, and being a bit early thought I'd take a quick pic at the side of a track.  I actually meant to photograph the wattle which is looking amazing at the moment.

I glanced down (as you do) and saw this!  The tiniest of tiny greenhood orchids - Linguella sp Hills Nana.

I kinda used to belong to the "if you've seen one greenhood you've seen 'em all" clan, but once you start to notice them they are the most amazing little plants.  Very rare generally - Belair National Park is one of the hotspots for them.

There will be one specific insect that pollinates this orchid and no I didn't see one.  Given the size of the orchid the pollinator is possibly microscopic.

Nature never ever ceases to amaze me.

Looking forward to tomorrow immensely..  (1) we are having our first garden working bee at OGH; and (2) the Rower gets home tomorrow evening.  Hip Hip Hooray for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.