Citadel Hill

In all the years I have lived in and visited Halifax, I had never gone up to Citadel Hill.  From the streets, it just looks like a hill, covered in grass and a lovely clock tower.  It was a surprise to see Fort George in the middle of that hill and to discover that it was designed to fool anyone coming into the harbour.  No one would be able to spot the fort with all its cannons, that would protect Halifax.  Ironically, the fort never came under attack.

An added 'attraction' in the Fort is a replica of the trenches in France during the war.  There is also a path of Canadian heroes who served in the war...featuring women, First Nations and black Canadians, as they are rarely mentioned in history books.  By far, my favourite part of Fort George.

Upon returning to my parents' we took in the fireworks in Wolfville. In the extra is my father who was capturing the sunset with his phone  : ))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.