Scots Guards

I think these soldiers are a recent addition guarding the staircase leading up from the beach in front of the Fittie children's playground. I did not notice any regimental emblems or tunic buttons so they cannot be placed to a particular regiment, but surely they would be Scots Guards.

A nice warm and sunny day, though the wind was quite strong. In the evening I went on a walking tour of Aberdeen, my second such tour this summer run by Hidden Aberdeen. This tour was to hear about Mediaeval Aberdeen, though parts of what we learnt (and in my case later mostly forgot) went back as far as Roman time and earlier.

It was a very interesting tour lasting about two hours. At the start we we had a light rain shower, but it passed over fairly quickly and it was not too cold. We started in front of the Maritime Museum and finished in Rosemount, passing through The Green, Union Terrace Gardens and Woolmanhill. By the time I had walked back to my apartment I was 20 steps short of my 10,000 target. I should have gone to put some rubbish out to get to 10,000, but it was late and the thought did not occur to me at the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.